With a view to administering the Labour Welfare Fund and extending welfare to workers of the state of West Bengal in terms of the provisions of the West Bengal Labour Welfare Fund Act, 1974, the Government of West Bengal has established and constituted the West Bengal Labour Welfare Board in 1976 under the said Act and the Rules framed thereunder.

The Board is a statutory autonomous body. The Head-office of the Board is housed in "Shramik Kalyan Bhawan" situated at P-3, CIT Scheme Vll-M, Kankurgachi, Kolkata- 700 054.

There are 51 Labour Welfare Centers out of which 23 are Model Labour Welfare Centers which are owned by the Board and set up on the Board's own land.

There is a Regional Office of the Board at Siliguri. There are six Holiday Homes under the Board as well.